Basic Info

Name:
Helen Rothberg, PhD
Contributor Status:
Native AdVantage
Initial Contribution Date:
07/19/2017
Primary Location:
New York, NY, USA

Career Info

Primary Industry:
Education
Personal Career Headline:
PROFESSOR OF STRATEGY AT MARIST COLLEGE, EXECUTIVE TRAINER, & AUTHOR OF "THE PERFECT MIX"
Business Description (One-Liner):

Strategy professor.

More Career Details:
Author, PhD, Professor / Educator
Experience Timeline:
21-30 years of work experience

My Native AdVert

Career Snapshot:

Helen Rothberg, PhD, bartended in New York City throughout her academic career. She has consulted with Fortune 500 companies, small technology start-ups, and nonprofit organizations. She speaks regularly on bartending and leadership at alumni and student gatherings. Dr. Rothberg is dual degreed in business and behavioral science, and is professor of strategy at the School of Management at Marist College, senior faculty at the Academy of Competitive Intelligence, and president of consulting firm HNR Associates. She lives in Orange County, NY, with her husband, dog, and several part-time goats. She still makes a mean cocktail.

My Native AdVantage

What do you do best?:

Tell stories

What makes you the best?:

I am relevant, insightful, to the point and honest.

What are your aspirations? (Personal and Business):

As an educator: Help people find what is magnificent in themselves so that they can reach.

As a consultant and executive trainer:  Facilitate people’s ability to critically think and to lead themselves to help their teams, departments and companies compete successfully

As an author: Share my own experience to encourage others to strive for their heart’s desire.

Biggest Success?:

Having Simon & Schuster say yes to my book!

As a female, making in a man’s world-both as a professor in a business school, and consultant in competitive intelligence & strategy, without losing myself.

Most Challenging Moment?:

My mother was adamant that I become a physician.  As a college sophomore, second semester of chemistry I knew that it wasn’t for me. It took another year for me to admit to her that I was no longer pre-med.  I couldn’t fulfill her dream. I had to find my own.  It was the first time I decided that I had to do something that I would enjoy doing for the next 40 years.   I realized that much of the time spent as an “adult” is at work, and I was determined not to suffer through it as my dad had done.

Motto?:

Get out of your own way

Favorite People/Role Models?:

N/A

Favorite Places/Destinations?:

Too many to put on one page!

Favorite Products/Objects?:

Cheap mechanical lead pencil, a small yellow pad, good hiking boots, a yoga mat.

Current Passions?:

Hiking, dancing, yoga, reading

Original Native Society Post

Native AdVantage:

Visual Clips

Primary Location


Are you sure you want to manually enter your location? Have you tried typing the first few letters?

SUBMIT your location My Location is Not Listed (enter manually) clear location