Basic Info

Julia Camara
Contributor Status:
Native AdVert
Initial Contribution Date:

Career Info

Primary Industry:
Television / Film
Personal Career Headline:

My Native AdVert

Career Snapshot:

Julia Camara is a Brazilian award winning writer/filmmaker living in Los Angeles with her husband, photographer and filmmaker, Tim Aldridge and her daughter Emilia. She has a B.A. in cinema from Columbia College-Hollywood. Julia is also a UCLA Professional Program in Screenwriting alumna. She has written and directed several award winning short films including “House Cleaning,” Best Comedy Short at the New York International Independent Film Festival in 2012, “How to Get a Date,” Best Short Short at the Broad Humor Film Festival in 2015, “O’ Tickle Tree,” judge’s pick at the 2015 Billy Bob Thorton Acting Challenge, and “Unsolved” a noir short film, available on Amazon Prime.

She wrote the sci-fi feature “Area Q” (starring Isaiah Washington), the road movie “Open Road” (starring Andy Garcia, Juliette Lewis and Camilla Belle), and the sci-fi found footage feature “Occupants” (starring Star Trek: Voyager’s Robert Picardo). “Occupants” won 23 awards at various film festivals including “Best Sci-fi Feature” at Shriekfest Film Festival and “Best Screenplay” at Idyllwild International Festival of Cinema. Julia’s latest project is the experimental feature drama “In Transit,” which she wrote and directed. “In Transit” won Best Experimental Film at the Glendale International Film Festival.

What Else To Know

Tell Us More:

What do you love most about Your City?

The sunshine. There are so few days here in Los Angeles where the sun isn’t shinning, I love that! I also enjoy the many events around town that are either film or arts related. Los Angeles also has some great museums and lots of outdoor activities.

Favorite breakfast meal & restaurant?

I love pancakes for breakfast, or eggs. I hardly ever make pancakes those at home, so it’s my go to meal at a restaurant. There are a few breakfast places I love on the westside of Los Angeles; Rocky’s in Culver City for Brunch on the weekends and Holy Cow in Culver City. A good weekday breakfast meeting place I enjoy is Clementine in Century City.

What are you doing at:

6:00 AM – Usually still asleep. Everyone is up at 7 am at my house most days. I’m a night owl but had to change my ways since becoming a mom.

10:00 AM – Right now I’m at an interesting time in my life, my daughter is in preschool until 11am. At 10 I’m usually trying to complete any tasks I have to complete to be able to leave the house by 10:45 to pick her up. Those tasks are usually emails, or any work related to any of my films, or translation work.

12:00 PM – Favorite Power Lunch spot/meal?

Because my four-year-old daughter is done with school by 11, we’re back from school at 11:15ish usually (sometimes the walk home is long as she likes to stop and play around our neighborhood). Most days we are both eating lunch together at 11:30AM. I always

7:00 PM – Dinner time at our home. Always a bit chaotic as my daughter goes nuts once her dad is home. I’d like to say we have nice family dinners together that are well balanced and nutritious and that I cooked from scratch. The reality is; it’s often frozen, take-out or pasta.

11:00 PM – It’s magic hour at my house as everyone is asleep but me. I get a lot of things done between the hours of 9PM and 12AM, most of my writing happens then.

What drink do you need to get through the day and at the end (and how many)?

I usually drink one or two cups of coffee in the morning. I enjoy chamomile tea in the evening when it’s cold. (For Los Angeles standards anything below 70 degrees is cold). I’ve been trying to drink more water through out the day but I often forget.

Most used App/Favorite Instagram Account?

Favorite Instagram account is @Wowgaw, also my favorite Twitter account, same handle. It’s all about Women Writers of the WGAw. I’m a proud member and support all of their efforts.

What should everyone try at least once?

Hard question. I’m a believer that life isn’t a one-size fits all experience. Some of the things I’ve tried when I was younger I wouldn’t even try now, so I’m not even sure there’s a right answer for me let alone everyone else. Am I overthinking this? I love traveling and discovering new places but I know it’s not for everyone. I love experimenting with my work and taking risks but I know that’s also not for everyone. I love being a mom, but I know parenting is not for everyone. Maybe different foods? But I also know there’s a lot of unusual foods I wouldn’t try anymore. Okay, maybe the answer is; try to spend 24-48 hours with no technology. I haven’t done it in quite a while, years, decades maybe. So, that also applies to me.

Where do you enjoy getting lost?

I used love getting lost inside bookstores. But I haven’t done that in a long time. I recently discovered one of the bookstores that used to be my home away from home closed. It made me so sad.

Primary Location

Are you sure you want to manually enter your location? Have you tried typing the first few letters?

SUBMIT your location My Location is Not Listed (enter manually) clear location