Basic Info

Name:
Kiki Aranita
Contributor Status:
AdVantage
Initial Contribution Date:
01/31/2019

Career Info

Primary Industry:
Food & Beverages / Culinary
Personal Career Headline:
Co-Owner, Poi Dog Philly

My AdVert

Career Snapshot:

Growing up on Oahu and in Hong Kong, Kiki was exposed to the multicultural and many-layered cuisines of two vastly different islands. She grew up perpetually homesick, missing Hawaiian food when she was in Hong Kong and longing for the fast-paced city life when she was in Hawaii. In both places, she was spoiled on many varieties of tropical fruits and distinct styles of dim sum and noodles because she belongs to large families that love to gather and eat together. She’s spent the last decade in New York and Philadelphia, first in academia, studying Renaissance Italian and ancient Roman epic and historiography, then as half of Poi Dog.

What Else To Know

My Goal of the Day:

Get through the to-do list

My Thought of the Day:

There’s always something to clean

My Action of the Day:

Walk everywhere

My Deed of the Day:

Crochet all day

My Tip of the Day:

Follow your heart

My Pic of the Day:
Tell Us More:

A Day in My Life:

What do you love most about Your City?

The tight-knit community of chefs and restaurateurs. There’s so much collaboration between us on projects and events.

Favorite breakfast meal & restaurant?

Café Ynez on Washington Ave – I love the enchiladas. It’s my after-ballet go-to breakfast on Saturdays and successfully cancels out my workout. All other days, it’s pistachios, granola and Greek yogurt.

What are you doing at:

6:00 AM On a weekday, speed-walking to Barre3, listening to reggaetón on Bluetooth earbuds under my earmuffs (makeshift fuzzy headphones).

10:00 AM Weeding through catering requests and emails at my desk in the basement office of Poi Dog. I handwrite a to-do list every morning in my most beautiful penmanship and then work through it.

12:00 PMFavorite Lunch spot/meal? Baology on JFK Blvd. Responsibly-sourced and carefully handmade Taiwanese food. Also I graffiti-ed my name on one of the counter stools.

7:00 PMUsually grabbing dinner with one of my girlfriends, Susannah and Abbe, who live close to me, ideally at Rangoon (wonderful Burmese food in Chinatown), then going home to Coconut Aranita, the cutest dog in the world. Do you or your business require a dog model?

11:00 PM In bed!

What drink do you need to get through the day and at the end (and how many)? Hawaiian coffee, always hot, two to three cups. Right now, coffee grown on Moloka’i.

Most used App/Favorite Instagram Account? WhatsApp is my primary mode of communication. We’re in the same room? I still prefer to WhatsApp you. Favorite Instagram is @poidogphilly obviously!

What should everyone try at least once?

Helicopter ride. Preferably over a volcano. You got this.

Where do you enjoy getting lost?

Chinese wet markets, where you can buy cotton underwear, a bunny rabbit and salted duck eggs from adjacent stalls.

Primary Location


Are you sure you want to manually enter your location? Have you tried typing the first few letters?

SUBMIT your location My Location is Not Listed (enter manually) clear location