Basic Info

Name:
Nisa Amoils
Contributor Status:
AdVantage
Initial Contribution Date:
04/20/2019

Career Info

Primary Industry:
Financial Services, Technology, Writing
Personal Career Headline:
Investor, Author & Venture Capitalist

My AdVert

Career Snapshot:

NISA AMOILS is an investor in private companies and has been a venture capitalist, a Board Member and entrepreneur. She invests in a variety of technology including consumer and enterprise, with focus on AR/VR, robotics, drones, AI, autonomous mobility, cybersecurity, blockchain and other disruptive technologies. She has also been an angel investor since 2010 with a portfolio focus on mentoring and supporting female founders and is a member of New York Angels.

A regular judge/panelist on CNBC, MSNBC and Fox and a contributor for Forbes, Amoils is a mentor at Grand Central Tech and Parity Partners, and is on the Advisory Board of Girls Who Invest. She is also a regular judge for the Wharton Business Plan Competition and a trustee of Penn Wharton Entrepreneurship. Formerly a corporate attorney who spent many years at Time Warner and NBC Universal, Amoils holds a business degree from the University of Michigan and a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania. Learn more about Nisa Amoils at NisaAmoils.com and connect with her on Twitter and LinkedIn.

AdMission Statement (AKA Personal Brand Pitch):

I have a diverse background which makes me a good investor – attorney, entrepreneur, media executive. I am passionate about new technology and enabling gender equality. I wrote a book called “WTF is Happening? Women Tech Founders on the Rise” about this.

What Else To Know

Tell Us More:

How did you get into the industry?

I started investing in technology about a decade ago and joined a VC firm to do the same. I started to focus on fintech a few years ago. As a securities lawyer, I was early to see the opportunity in security tokens and decentralized finance. I have been writing about that space in Forbes. I see Blockchain being an evolution that will make traditional finance more efficient, transparent, global, liquid and democratized – that is incredibly exciting.

A Day in My Life:

What do you love most about Your City?

Walking around and the restaurants.

Favorite breakfast meal & restaurant?

Hard boiled eggs at home.

What are you doing at:

6:00 AM – reading

10:00 AM – calls

12:00 PM – Favorite Lunch spot/meal?

Le Pain Quotidien avocado toast.

7:00 PM – a VC event

11:00 PM – reading

What drink do you need to get through the day and at the end (and how many)?

A few green teas.

Most used App/Favorite Instagram Account?

Twitter

Where do you enjoy getting lost?

Hiking mountains.

Primary Location


Are you sure you want to manually enter your location? Have you tried typing the first few letters?

SUBMIT your location My Location is Not Listed (enter manually) clear location