Basic Info

Name:
Lýdia Machová
Contributor Status:
Native AdVice
Initial Contribution Date:
01/28/2019

Career Info

Primary Industry:
Education, Technology
Personal Career Headline:
Founder, Language Mentoring

My Native AdVert

Career Snapshot:

Lýdia Machová has learned nine languages without ever living abroad or in a multilingual environment. She maintains seven of them at a fluent level, and she usually learns a new one every two years. After meeting dozens of polyglots, or people who speak a lot of languages, she now shares the principles of language learning with the world as a language mentor. It’s a profession she created and it means she doesn’t teach people languages, but instead teaches them, how they can learn any language by themselves.

Machová was the main organizer of the world’s biggest polyglot event, the Polyglot Gathering in Bratislava, Slovakia, in 2017 and 2018. She holds a PhD in translation studies and previously worked as a professional conference interpreter. She is based in Slovakia but travels often on her mission to help people learn languages in their own ideal way. She had a TED talk at TED Salon New York in 2018 and the recording hit a million views in just 5 days of being featured on the ted.com website.

What Else To Know

My Goal of the Day:

To inspire at least one person every day to working on themselves, for example by learning a language.

My Thought of the Day:

What is worth doing at all is worth doing well.

My Tip of the Day:

First think of what you can give others and you’ll get a lot more in return.

My Pic of the Day:
Tell Us More:

A Day in My Life:

What do you love most about Your City?

Bratislava: I like that it’s big enough to be a city (half a million inhabitants) but small enough to keep a personal touch. And it has a great central position in Europe.

Favorite breakfast meal & restaurant?

I usually have a yoghurt or oatmeal for breakfast, preferably with a cup of English Breakfast tea with milk.

What are you doing at:

6:00 AM – sleeping happily 🙂

10:00 AM – Finished my morning language learning routine and my me-time (writing in a diary, reading a book) and starting work from home.

12:00 PM – Favorite Lunch spot/meal?

I usually meet friends or have business meetups for lunch, if not, then I’ll have something delivered, usually from a Peruvian restaurant which is the closest to me.

7:00 PM – I finish my work for the day or if there are live webinars scheduled for that day, I’ll host a webinar for my clients (because they can watch live only in the evenings).

11:00 PM – I hang out with my friends or watch a Netflix series or sometimes work if I’m very excited about a new project or an idea and I am in the flow.

What drink do you need to get through the day and at the end (and how many)?

I do not “need” a drink, but I like to have a large thermos with green/white/roiboos tea on my desk when working. I don’t drink coffee at all, I just don’t like it.

Most used App/Favorite Instagram Account?

Slack to communicate with my team, and also Messenger to stay in touch with friends.

What should everyone try at least once?

Travel solo. So many people are afraid to just leave their home without a precise plan of where they’ll end up and whom they’ll meet. These things always figure themselves out by themselves, if you just open up to the possibility of someone or something amazing crossing your life path. It’s incredibly easy today with hostels and apps such as Couchsurfing Hangouts, Meetup and so many Facebook groups to find interesting people on your travels.

Where do you enjoy getting lost?

In my ideas when brainstorming something new, either by myself or with my team. It’s a fascinating journey. All I need is make sure I write things down.

Primary Location


Are you sure you want to manually enter your location? Have you tried typing the first few letters?

SUBMIT your location My Location is Not Listed (enter manually) clear location